Cart 0

The Single Stone , ,

By Meg McKinlay.

Middle grade fiction with dystopian elements. Beautifully written and thought-provoking, it deals with themes of conformity, belief systems, manipulation and what happens when belief systems are challenged. A novel that stays with you.

$16.95

Books of Buderim on the Sunshine Coast has available this years Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) shortlisted Book of the Year: Older Readers

Every girl dreams of being part of the line – the chosen seven who tunnel deep into the mountain to find the harvest. No work is more important. Jena is the leader of the line – strong, respected, reliable. And – as all girls must be – she is small; her years of training have seen to that. It is not always easy but it is the way of the things. And so a girl must wrap her limbs, lie still, deny herself a second bowl of stew. Or a first. But what happens when one tiny discovery makes Jena question everything she has ever known? What happens when moving a single stone changes everything?

  • Meg’s previous novel, Surface Tension, won the Best Young Fiction category of the 2012 Davitt Awards. Meg has been short-listed for the CBCA awards on three occasions.
  • Perfect for fans of Emily Rodda, Tamora Pierce, Isobelle Carmody and Carole Wilkinson.

About the author

Meg McKinlay grew up in Bendigo, Victoria, in a book-loving, TV- and car-free household. On the long and winding path to becoming a children’s writer, she has worked a variety of jobs including swim instructor, tour guide, translator and teacher. These days, she lives with her family near the ocean in Fremantle and is an Honorary Research Associate at the University of Western Australia, where she has taught Australian Literature, Japanese, and Creative Writing. Meg divides her time between teaching and writing, a balance that swings wildly between chaos and calm.

Shortlisted for the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award 2016, Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature 2016 and winner of the Griffith University Children’s Book Award.

 

Available at Books of Buderim – the bookshop that captures your imagination.

Be the first to review “The Single Stone”