Miles Franklin Literary Award 2016 shortlist June 4, 2016 – Posted in: Awards, Blog, Inspiration – Tags: , , ,

There are so many good books available, old and new. It can be a minefield to find a book that you’ll love. There may be styles of books you prefer or authors you love or even a setting that really grabs you, like rural Australia is always popular. There is a lot of help offered in bookshops, with staff and best seller lists and separation into genres.  But sometimes it is a good idea to pick up a book that is recommend by an external body. The Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia’s most prestigious literature prize. The books that have been shortlisted for the 2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award are among some of the most widely thought of books in the literary community.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Hope Farm (Peggy Frew, Scribe)
  • Leap (Myfanwy Jones, A&U)
  • Black Rock White City (A S Patric, Transit Lounge)
  • Salt Creek (Lucy Treloar, Pan Macmillan)
  • The Natural Way of Things (Charlotte Wood, A&U).

‘The Miles Franklin Literary Award is presented for a novel judged as being ‘of the highest literary merit’ and which presents ‘Australian life in any of its phases’.

The judging panel comprises Neville; journalist Murray Waldren; bookseller Lindy Jones; author, editor and Queensland Writers Centre founding chair Craig Munro; and Flinders University emeritus professor Susan Sheridan.