Book Awards 2017 August 17, 2017 – Posted in: Awards – Tags:

Ned Kelly 2017 shortlist

The Australian Crime Writers Association has announced the shortlists for the 2017 Ned Kelly Awards for the best in Australian crime writing.

Best Fiction

  • Crimson Lake by Candice Fox
  • The Golden Child by Wendy James
  • An Isolated Incident by Emily Maguire
  • Police at the Station and They Don’t Look Friendly by Adrian McKinty
  • The rules of Backyard Cricket by Jack Serong
  • Out of the Ice by Ann Turner

Winner will be announced on the 1 September 2017

Romance Writers of Australia (RWA) 2017 award winners

The winners of the 2017 Romance Writers of Australia (RWA) Romantic Book of the Year awards, known as the ‘RUBYs’ have been announced. 

The winners included:

Long romance and romantic book of the year

  • Escaping Mr Right (Avril Tremayne, Random House)


James Tait Black Prizes for Fiction and Biography

The winners of the James Tait Black Prizes for fiction and biography—the UK’s oldest literary awards—have been announced.

Eimear McBride’s second novel The Lesser Bohemians has won the prize for fiction.

Laura Cumming won the biography prize for The Vanishing Man